A Goal Setting Reminder – Persistence, Precision and Vision

Would you believe it?  It’s almost the end of March and I’m embarrassed to say I’ve only just completed my year’s goals!!!  Better late than never.  I started as I meant to go on of course, in fact I started before January was even upon us.  To do your goals properly, really you need a concentrated amount of time when you switch off the phone, put on some music to inspire you, and then you let your imagination and desires run free and see where they take you. Hmmm.  Couldn’t have been more different this year.

For a start, being a life coach, I like to make sure I’m using the best system so that I can teach it to my clients and workshop attendees, so this year I tampered with the systems I usually use and ended up using an amalgamation of both!  Then, being a mother of 3 active young kids, of course I didn’t get to do it all in one sitting – not by a long shot.  So whilst the first sit down session was one with the phone off and music, by the time I got round to the last (yesterday) I was sitting in the hubbub  of Costa, in between one errand and another, just getting it done.

Tell you what though there is something to be said for the ‘spaced repetition’ method.  Over the course of the 3 months or so it has taken me, I’ve had to look over my desired outcomes and really think about them a number of times.  You know what I realised yesterday?  That just in reminding myself of them regularly, I’ve actually done quite a few of them already 🙂  I was able to cross a number of things off before they even made it onto my official list for the year.

I’ve also learned two things about the methods I use.  Years ago I used to use the method a brilliant coach, Phillip Humbert http://www.philiphumbert.com/ made available to download.  But I’ve also vacillated between that and the Wheel of Life method taught by Tony Robbins.  This year I’ve decided for once and for all that I actually like the wheel of life method (with my adaptations to it) better.  What I’ve learnt from PH though is the addition of the category of ‘Environment’ which I’m now going to add to the other categories I use: Family, Finances, Professional, Fun, Health, Spiritual, Relationship, Friendships, Contribution and Growing.  And something else I’ve realised is that while every year your goal setting method invariably asks you to write down all your most farfetched and long term dreams in each area, you then only pick the most short term ones to work on.  Now some of those farfetched long term things I really want, so I’m adding another category: ‘Plans’.

So who wants to know what I’m focusing on this year (now that I finally know!!!)?   Here’s a short selection:  Create an amazing summer, full of mountains and lakes etc, Make monthly inspirational hangout at my house, Read an enlightening book a month, Run a weekly personal development class, Write to change the world, Build my internet presence, Lovingly give each child their hour a week, Get 6-8 hours sleep a night, Put all birthdays on outlook and synchronise to phone, Grow my enlightened presence within my marriage.   There are more of course – too many to list here!  I know you’re supposed to emerge with three or four desired outcomes to focus on … but I don’t like to do things by halves…

So now let me ask you … I’m sure you’ve been far more organised than me and got your goals done in January – so the end of March is the end of the First Quarter of the year…. how are your goals going … come on now – I want answers!  And for those of you that got delayed, like me, and haven’t finished, or even haven’t started, well are you going to wait till next January, or are you going to get going NOW?  How are you supposed to have the life you want, if you haven’t even defined what you want?  I want to hear some goals and desired outcomes, people!!!  For those who are scared to comment in WordPress, if you comment in Facebook I will bring your comments over to WP – how’s that for an offer? And by the way, why do you think I told you some of my desired outcomes? So you could hold me to them!  If you tell everyone what you want to achieve, you’re far more likely to achieve it – it’s people power!

Now is the time either to be re-evaluating your goals and how far you’ve got on them, or at least stating them before another year goes by.  I’m not going to go into a full on goal setting session now – I’ll save that for the New Year.  Just remember, ask for your heart’s desires – if you don’t ask you don’t get,   be careful what you ask for, and make sure they’re things that you can bring about yourself – ie: that don’t rely on anyone else.

Here’s to persisting and getting things done (eventually 😮 ), and here’s to the life of your desires!

Rivka

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

