What if it IS possible to make things happen with your thoughts?

I’m going to get a teensy bit metaphysical on you today, but I’ll do my best to keep it real 🙂

So I’ve been reading Gregg Braden as followers of this blog will know.  I’m really enjoying his books though I find I need to take it slow and digest little bits at a time.  Suits me, that’s about as much reading time as I take anyway with three little kiddies running around!  What impresses me the most about the man is that he has the rare ability to sit on two sides of a fence at the same time and still make sense.  He was an earth sciences expert and computer systems designer, then his interest turned to ancient sacred sites and texts, and he now manages to marry spirituality and science so that they get along.  I love that, because sometimes I get so frustrated with those two camps not agreeing that I could just bang their heads together! Anyway…

In ‘The Isaiah Effect’ Braden tells of how (within a class of other students) he saw a healing take place on video, filmed at ‘the medicineless hospital’, Huaxia Zhineng Quigong Clinic and Training Centre in the city of Quinhuangdao, China.

Now follows my précis of a few paragraphs of ‘The Isaiah Effect’:

The footage showed a woman lying awake and fully conscious on her back in a clinical setting, wearing loose clothing with her abdomen exposed, and a nurse using an ultrasound wand to scan her stomach. Immediately behind her stood three medics in white jackets, one of whom started to wave his hands over her face and chest.  The footage then focused on the ultrasound image where (as the instructor illustrated to them) a bladder cancer was clearly visible.

The three medics stood behind her and with much concentration began to utter over and over again a single word, which translates into English as ‘already gone’ or ‘already accomplished’.  The live image of the cancer as shown by the ultrasound began to quiver and with the rest of the image in perfect focus, started to fade from view.   In two minutes and forty seconds the tumour had simply disappeared! The ultrasound image of the bladder was then perfectly healthy. The patient looked on with relief, as the three medics and the nurse conferred and agreed that the healing was complete.  They bowed to each other at the waist, and the procedure was finished.

Wow.  Now we could have a whole debate about whether the video was a fake or not, but you know we’d be ages and we probably wouldn’t reach a solution as neither you nor I actually met the client or saw the video, so how could we judge.  Personally when it’s not absolutely certain whether something is true or not, I like to go along with the convenient theory and see where it takes me.  The idea that healing is possible and is verifiable by ultrasound is most convenient to me, so I’m going to run with it – wanna come along?

So here we have an example of being able to control the world with your mind.   When I say ‘your’, I see no difference between those three medical healer guys and you or I.  If they can do it so can we, if we just learn what they do, and do the same.  That’s classic NLP for you.  If you want to learn to do something, find someone who’s good at it and model what they do – i.e. copy them.

Here’s more classic NLP – or maybe classic psychology – for you and I quote from the book ‘Talk and Grow Rich’ by Ron G Holland:

“The renowned psychologist, William Moulton Marston, used to get people to rehearse in
their mind’s eye. If someone came to him wanting advice on his or her career he used to get
them to visualize themselves in the “position” they required. “Rehearse the future as it is
desired,” he told them. It is imperative that you see your desires clearly in your mind’s eye,
be they material or intangible goals. Reading your desires, parrot fashion, from a list will
bring no results, whatsoever, and it is essential that you visualize every night and every
morning. It is of no use at all to practice only when you feel like it. It is of the essence that
you believe your goals have already materialized and it is similarly important that you do
not think of how you will achieve such ambitions. As Paracelsus, the great physician, said,
“Those who make room for impressions, receive them.”

http://www.scribd.com/doc/23365175/17505066-Talk-Grow-Rich-How-to-Create-Wealth-Without-Capital-Ron-G-Holland

I read this book years ago, and that phrase has stuck in my mind – “rehearse the future as it is desired”.  NLP does a lot of this.  Whatever you wish to accomplish, a good NLP practitioner will have you rehearsing in your mind the state of things as you wish them to be, in full colour and detail, using visual, auditory and kinaesthetic channels – so that you really experience and FEEL that the situation IS as you want it to be.  NLP practitioners will tell you that the brain ‘can’t tell the difference’ between what’s real and what you deeply imagine.  So if you want to be an amazing basketball player and you imagine over and over again that you are putting the ball through the hoop accurately and precisely each time you throw, the brain takes that as real experience and you become in some senses an expert, just by mental rehearsal.  When you find yourself in the actual situation in real life you have all that expertise behind you, and that expertise carries over into the real situation, helping you to perform beautifully.  Every sports person the world over is encouraged to see and feel themselves doing what it takes to win and winning, so that they get good at doing just that.

In a similar vein, read any book on the ‘Force of Attraction’ and you are encouraged to do exactly the same thing – to see, feel, hear, even taste and smell the thing you want, in order to attract it into your life.  Want to be rich? Imagine what it feels to be rich.  Deeply feel being rich.  According to the law of the ‘Force of Attraction’ it brings you riches.

At one of Tony Robbins live events (and if you are thinking of going, go, go, go, you’ll love it and learn a lot) he told us about how he taught this principal to the room of attendees and then afterwards a couple stood up and said something like “Fine, we’re going to win the lottery”.  Robbins said “No, no, no, it has to be something that you can control, the lottery is out of your control, it won’t work.” “No” the couple insisted, “If it works, it works. We’re going to go home and win the lottery and then come back and tell you about it.” They went home and told all their friends they had won the lottery.  They started living it up like as though they had really won.  They kept it up till they felt like millionaires. Guess what?  They won.  They came back to a Robbins event, stood up in the room and told him about their win.  “Well I’m very happy for you” he said to them “but it was a fluke”. “No it wasn’t!”  They said, “We’ll do it again.” They repeated the process and sure enough, they won again, and went back and told him too.  He had to admit they were right.

So what is going on here?  Is all this true?  Let’s go with the convenient theory.  We are seeing, across many different events, from a healing in China, to getting a job, to sports all over the world, to winning the lottery, that what you do with your thoughts and more importantly with your feelings is what attracts events in your life to you and that there is every possibility that you can make things happen, just by thinking about them and feeling them.  Again, wow.

Let’s play with this power.  You know what I’ve been doing with it? I wouldn’t tell you, but this is a ‘warts and all’ type of blog, so here goes …you’ll laugh, and I told you I was going to keep it real … I’ve been unblocking toilets.  Yup.  A little somebody in this household persists in chucking in far too much paper, often resulting in a blockage that is annoying to say the least.  Usually I discover this when attempting to flush, and the water instead of going down starts to rise.  You know the feeling … so my little mental prayer at this point used to be ‘please let it go down, oh please let it go down’ … are you picking up on the desperation? (!!!) The blockage mostly stayed right where it was.  Right. Well you could say I have a new technique … mentally the words I say are a variation on those used at the Chinese healing  … I say “It is done” over and over again.  I envisage the blockage releasing and the water flowing down as it should. I consciously allow the stress that often accompanies these things to flow away, and I invite in the relaxed feeling that would go along with the water flowing as it should.  I allow myself to feel at ease as though the water had already started to flow away.  And guess what happens … well, the blockages have been clearing. Chance? Maybe … or maybe not.

I’ve started to use this in other aspects of my life (you’ll be pleased to hear).  I use those words “It is done”, I envisage the situation as though what I want has already happened, and (I think this is the important bit) I allow myself to FEEL the feelings that go along with the thing I want having already happened.  I am getting mixed results at the moment, but some of them make me smile.  The other day I was a good half hour late for parents evening, and stuck in traffic.  There was no way I was going to get there anywhere near on time.  I was sitting there, bumper to bumper, stressing away, till I said to myself “enough is enough, my girl – do the ‘it is done’ thing” so I did.   You know what happened? When I got to school I realised that I’d neglected to set my watch back for the change to winter time, and forgotten to mentally minus off the hour because I was in so much of a rush to get there in time.  I was half an hour early, and I got to jump the queue and get home far earlier than I should have. What do you make of that?

You can make your own decision on all of this, obviously.  I’m choosing the convenient theory.  I believe that it is perfectly possible to achieve things with your mind and your feelings.  I am so far having to make a strong conscious effort to go with the good feelings instead of the feeling of stress that we are all so trained into – and I think this will improve with practice.  I think the key is the feelings bit, and we’ve spoken about this before (Feel Abundant and Get What You Want).  What you feel, you get.  You know what, even if it doesn’t really work, if it results in me taking every aspect of life calmly and happily, that’s still a powerful and healthy benefit. So I’m going with it wholeheartedly … wanna come?

You know the image that comes to mind? That old story of the little child running around trying to grab a butterfly with his net, getting more and more upset because he can’t catch it.  Eventually the child stops trying and just sits down to rest and think of something else to do. And the butterfly flutters down and sits on his knee.

Let’s release all that old stress we used to feel was so necessary, and believe instead that the butterfly will land of its own accord – if we just let it.

Have a magical week 🙂

Rivka

Posted on November 16, 2011, in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Your last sentences says it. I am all about visualizing the future. It’s important to look forward. To have goals. To practice seeing where you’d like to be in X number of years and then taking the necessary steps to get there.

    Like, I can’t just say, “I want to write a book one day,” and then never pick up a pen.

    Steve Jobs practiced a kind of “magical thinking” that he learned in India and he applied it to his every day life. Unfortunately, it had worked so well in so many aspects of his life that when it came to his illness — his cancer — he made the choice to ONLY do magical thinking. And what could have been an operable tumor ultimately destroyed him. I’ve never been an “this OR that” kind of girl. I always wonder why we can’t do both of a lot of things. Why we can’t practice medicine, but also practice magical thinking. Why we can’t be good Jews, but also study about Jesus. And vice versa.

    I love the story of the butterfly.There is much true that when we stop trying so hard that things will come to us. I remember a friend wanting a companion so much. She was just going bonkers about it. Finally, she shrugged and decided she was done.

    That night, in her sweatpants at the grocery store. There he was. 😉 They’ve been married 15 years. Magical.

    • Renée, Thank you for your comment, and that is fascinating. I didn’t know Steve Jobs used magical thinking, though if you think about it, it makes a lot of sense – look at the difference between what he introduced to the world and everything else that was out there at the time – you’d have to be thinking out of the box to do that! I’d love to know more about the process he used – do you have any further information?
      Also love the story about the sweatpants romance 🙂
      xR

  2. Check out Jobs’ autobiography. Also, you might be able to go to YouTube for Steve Jobs and find the recent episode dedicated to him; that’s where I first learned about his use of “magical thinking.”

Leave a Reply

